Marla E. Salmon Named 2012-2013 Institute of Medicine

m Bookmark and Share
Marla E. Salmon, ScD, RN, FAAN, has been chosen as the 2012-2013 Nurse Scholar-in-Residence at the Institute of Medicine (IOM) of the National Academies. Sponsored by the American Academy of Nursing (AAN), the American Nurses Association (ANA), and the American Nurses Foundation (the Foundation), the Nurse Scholar-in-Residence program provides a year-long leadership opportunity in health policy at IOM. Designed as an immersion experience, the program engages nurse leaders in significant health policy development at the national level and facilitates interactions with other health fellows, scholars, and policy leaders.

“We are pleased to continue our partnership with the Institute of Medicine, the American Academy of Nursing, and the American Nurses Association,” said Kate Judge, executive director of the American Nurses Foundation. “Nurses are central to improving the health of our nation, and their expanding role needs to be a part of health care policy at every level. Dr. Salmon brings a wealth of experience and expertise to this position.”

Salmon, who is a member of the Washington State Nurses Association, will study various scholarship and policy areas, including global nursing workforce capacity building and social impact investment and microfinance as mechanisms for reducing barriers to women’s education.

“Studying development issues aimed at enhancing the educational and economic well-being of women is the type of critically important work that will advance nursing workforce policy,” added ANA President Karen Daley, PhD, MPH, RN, FAAN. “ANA congratulates Dr. Salmon on her achievement and acknowledges the invaluable work of the IOM Nurse Scholar program for engaging nurse leaders in health policy development.”

Immediate past dean of the University of Washington School of Nursing, Salmon continues there as a professor of nursing and public health and as a Senior Visiting Fellow at the Evans School of Public Affairs.  Her career achievements also include co-chairing the first-ever joint meetings of the federal government’s Council on Graduate Medical Education and National Advisory Council on Nurse Education and Practice, serving as a member of the White House Taskforce on Healthcare Reform, and chairing the Global Advisory Group for Nursing and Midwifery of the World Health organization.

Donations to the Foundation annual fund support the Scholar-in-Residence program. The most recent AAN/American Nurses Foundation/IOM Scholars-in-Residence and their focus areas include:

  • Pamela Cipriano, PhD, RN, NEA-BC (2010) - Health Information Technology
  • Julie Fairman, PhD, RN, FAAN (2009) - The History of Nursing
  • Mary Evans, PhD, RN, FAAN (2008) - Child Mental Health
  • Carolyn Williams (2007) - Collaboration Among Health Care Professionals
  • Ada Sue Hinshaw (2006) - Nursing Research Impact on Policy
  • Jacqueline C. Campbell, PhD, RN, FAAN (2005) - Violence against Women
  • Veronica Feeg (2004) - Child Health
  • Angela Barron McBride (2003) - Technology
  • Bonnie Mowinski Jennings (2002) - Quality and Health Care